Molly tries Barkbox

Lately, I have been trying every subscription box that I can get my hands on. My dog, Molly, hates when the mailman comes! We’ve thought of a bunch of different ways to convince her that the mailman doesn’t want to hurt her. We even let her get onto a UPS truck once and had the driver give her treats and that didn’t help! So I decided to get a subscription box full of stuff just for her!

Screen Shot 2016-09-07 at 5.48.56 AM.jpg

I didn’t like the prices for this box so I started to sign up and then just left the web page (when you do this companies will keep sending you deals in your email until you sign up).

They finally sent me an offer to try it once without a subscription at all — so it was time to go for it.

When you sign up you select the size of your dog – small, medium, or large and what subscription package you want.

  • $20/month for 12 months
  • $24/month for 6 months
  • $29/month for 1 month

Then they ask if you want to pay $9 extra dollars a month for premium toys.

The theme for this box was Poo York City (New York City) which I thought was really cute. However, I wish they gave you an option to personalize your box a little better when you sign up. My dog will destroy just about any toy in a few minutes & we do not allow either of our dogs to eat animal chews.

Lady Liberty Ball – Medium $9.00

Molly.JPG

When I opened the box, Molly went right for this ball. She loves to destroy plush toys especially when they have a ball inside that she can play with. It took her about five minutes to tear off each of the points and then I took it away so she could finish destroying it another day. It’s been two days since then and she has been searching the house intently for this toy. The moment I gave it back to her she tore it to shreds.

Andi’s Famous Plush Dumplings $16.00

Surprise, I actually have two dogs but only Molly likes to play with toys. What was cool about this toy was that there were two dumplings inside of a plush box. Two dumplings mean that both dogs could have one. If only Winnie cared about destroying plush toys as much as Molly. I really enjoyed watching Molly stuff her head inside of the crinkly box as she tried to get to the dumplings. But once she had it out of the box it was less than a minute until it was in pieces.

Screen Shot 2016-09-07 at 5.49.58 AM.jpg

Screen Shot 2016-09-07 at 5.48.02 AM.jpg

NYC Roasted Duck Jerky Bites $8.00

Obviously, Winnie went straight for this one. I tried to hand her one while taking a picture and her nose went right into the bag. Winnie and Molly rarely turn their noses up at something to eat and this was no exception.

Screen Shot 2016-09-07 at 5.48.22 AM.jpg

Best Treats Ever $0.00 ?

I don’t have anything special to say about these – the dogs ate them, enjoyed them, and they’re made in America. They are soft and I break them into a bunch of pieces before I feed them to the dogs.

Trachea $0.00?

Screen Shot 2016-09-07 at 6.03.11 AM.jpg

So all in all, I’m pretty disappointed that we received this because I do not let my dogs eat animal chews. Our previous dog loved to chew on the pig ears that you can buy from PetSmart but ended up getting broken up pieces stuck in her nose, throat, and tummy. We didn’t know it but over time these things really hurt her and that’s why we refuse to give them to our dogs now. I contacted Barkbox and they sent me a $5 code plus free shipping to buy something else for our dogs and also offered to send a replacement. We’ll see what happens with that but I was very impressed with how responsive they are.

Screen Shot 2016-09-07 at 5.49.33 AM.jpg

Overall, the dogs enjoyed the box but I won’t be subscribing. The box costs too much to receive things that my dogs will destroy instantly.

If you’re interested in giving Barkbox a try, please use Molly’s referral code WINNIEBARKBOX because she would love to get another box. I am sure we will sign her up again next time I receive a sign-up deal because she really did love it!

If you all would like any more information about this box – please let me know in the comments. I would love to answer any of your questions!

**I’ll update this post with the replace that we receive since Molly wasn’t allowed to have the trachea.***

Updated – We received a tough rubber toy as a replacement (I can’t remember the name of it at the moment) and it’s held up very well. It’s been three months and it is still in one piece.

IMG_5022.JPG

3 thoughts on “Molly tries Barkbox

  1. Hi there! Do you by chance know who makes the “best treats ever” you didn’t comment on them but my dog loved them! Or the ingredients?

    Like

    • Hey! I didn’t comment on them because I couldn’t find them on their website. I think they may be a bark & co brand which is made by barkbox I believe. I looked around to find the bag of treats – if I can find them I will post the ingredients here for you!

      Like

  2. Pingback: September Barkbox | kimberlaylay

Leave a Reply

