I’ll take S’more!

Screen Shot 2016-09-05 at 9.08.39 PM.jpgLast week I was scrolling through snap chat and found this recipe for S’mores Cupcakes. I always look for recipes that are foolproof and anything S’mores related is typically pretty simple. You know – they’re not meant to be attractive so you can get away with just throwing all of the ingredients together.

Before you get into this post you have to know that this was an absolute mess. I hate recipes that seem simple and turn into a disaster. This is one where you have like 6 bowls dirty and your butter explodes in the microwave (no that really happened when I only put it in for 15 seconds). It was such as a pain as I made it that I told myself I would never make this recipe again.

Fast forward to trying a S’mores cupcake for the first time and I am hooked. I will most definitely be making these again. They were so good that the typical “dieters” at the party had 2 or 3 of them!

However, when I do recreate this recipe I am going to make them as mini cupcakes instead of the full sized one. I also found that I had A LOT of ingredients left over which I hate. Although you can’t exactly make half a box of devils food cake. So I would suggest having extra chocolate chips, heavy cream, and marshmallows so that you can make more of the ganache and have extra marshmallows for topping.

Screen Shot 2016-09-05 at 8.28.16 PM.jpg

Ingredients

  • 3 cups graham cracker crumbs (about 20 full sheets)
  • 12 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • pinch of salt (oops. I skipped this part and they were still awesome)
  • Devil’s food cake mix (& the ingredients to prepare it – oil, eggs, and water)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 24 marshmallows (an entire bag of the normal sized ones)
  • A package of cupcake liners (you absolutely have to use these because these are messy)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a two 12-cup muffin tins with cupcake liners.
  2. Meanwhile, combine graham cracker crumbs, butter, and sugar in small bowl. Press about 1 tablespoon of the mixture into each cupcake liner to make mini crusts.
  3. Prepare cake mix according to box instructions. Divide batter between cupcake liners and bake for a couple minutes less than the box instructs, about 16 minutes.
  4. While the cupcakes are baking, make a quick ganache. Place chocolate chips in a medium, heatproof bowl and set aside. Heat heavy cream in a small saucepan over medium heat. When bubbles begin to break the surface around the edges of the pan, turn off the heat. Pour the hot cream over chocolate chips, whisking constantly until the sauce is smooth.
    1. My heavy cream boiled up a bunch because I stopped paying attention and the ganache still tasted great. Pro tip: I used milk chocolate chips and added a bit of sugar into mine to cut the bitterness.
  5. When your cupcakes are almost done baking, pull them out and spoon about a tablespoon of ganache onto each cupcake then top each with a marshmallow. Return the tray to the oven and bake—watching closely!—until the marshmallows are golden and very soft, 4-5 more minutes.
    1. This step was a disaster the ganache is runny and the marshmallows slide off. On the outside of the pan I just placed the marshmallows on the inside of the cupcake. That way I didn’t get melted marshmallow all over the oven. When they come out it is easy to push the marshmallow back into place on top.
Leave a Reply

