My go to Sangria!

This is my go to Sangria. It’s so simple and always requested at any summer party that I attend. I typically make one or two batches before I arrive. While I’m there I will make one or two more batches right in the host’s kitchen using ingredients from their home.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lemon (cut in half)
  • 1 orange (cut in half)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 750 ml bottle dry red or white wine, chilled
  • 1-2 cups carbonated water, chilled (I usually choose between 1 or 2 cups depending on how many people I’m serving. Two cups makes it last longer 😉
  • 2 tablespoons brandy (More if I want to make it stronger so people will ask for less refills)
  • Ice cubes

Directions:

  1. Juice half of an orange and half of a lemon into your pitcher. Then cut off all four ends.
  2. For the syrup, add sugar and water to a saucepan and place the four fruit ends face down in the pan. Bring this mixture to a boil stirring until the sugar dissolves.
  3. Remove that from heat and let it cool. (this is the part where I get impatient and usually put the hot mixture into my sangria pitcher) Once cool, Squeeze remaining juice from the cooked fruit into the syrup.
  4. In a pitcher combine syrup, wine, carbonated water, and brandy. Stir the mixture together and top with fruit slices.
  5. Serve in wine glasses over ice. For garnish – cut the remaining halves of lemon and orange into small slices then cut in half. Place in glass over Sangria.
One thought on “My go to Sangria!

  1. Pingback: Tangy & Sweet Sangria | kimberlaylay

Leave a Reply

