Thoughts

Wow. It has been almost two full months since I’ve posted on here.

A lot can change in two months.

I’ve transitioned from being a recent college grad who thought they would never find a job to someone who has not one but two really fulfilling jobs.

What I’m trying to learn now is how to compartmentalize work and “life” and how to achieve the perfect work-life balance.

I think that it is something that takes time and practice.

So far I’ve decided that one date night on the weekend is completely necessary. I feel like we’ve morphed into two people who sleep in the same bed but never have time to enjoy each others company.

I’m still trying to figure out how to plan and make dinner each night of the week. I think I’m going to implement a weekly menu soon and try to do all of my grocery shopping and some meal prepping on Sunday.

For example, if I’m making spaghetti with meat sauce or tacos I can brown two pounds of ground beef and freeze them in separate bags. That way when I come home from work I can defrost those in the microwave and put them right into what I plan to make.

I also need to determine what day is the best for laundry. Do you do laundry on Wednesday so you can fold and put away a little bit each night or do you add that to your weekend to do list when all you want to do is lounge around?

On the same topic as date night –- I want to plan at least one adventure every few weekends. We could go to a wine tasting or explore one of the amazing towns we live so close to.

I want to be the type of person that enjoys my weekends and spends any free time that I have doing things I enjoy.

I would like to get back into the habit of making crafts and I think that will be easy with Easter right around the corner. Baking unique things for holidays is one of my favorite things to do.

I don’t know if these thoughts will be helpful to anyone else. But my hope is that I can make you feel a little bit better about the fact that you haven’t cooked dinner in a week because you would rather just go to sleep.

 

Leave a Reply

