Excited

So I ordered myself the coolest thing since sliced bread on Black Friday. Actually. It’s kind of an old thing. I ordered a Fujifilm Instax Mini 8 camera.

I was flipping through Black Friday ad’s and saw it at Michael’s. Which got me interested in the camera and wondering what the heck it was. I started researching prices online and watching YouTube videos. It didn’t take long for me to realize that it was something I NEEDED.

I’ve been calling it a modern Polaroid. The pictures are actually much smaller than a Polaroid they’re credit card sized.

When I was a kid my grandfather had a Polaroid camera that I always wanted to get my hands on. But once I was finally allowed to have it someone else got it and I never saw it again.

In a world where we rely so much on the internet and our cell phones I thought this is the perfect time to get myself a camera where I not only have to pick and choose what to capture. But I also get a print out of the image instantly. Something my generation loves – instant gratification.

You can get the White Mini 8  from Walmart.com for $58. But, I wanted the “Tiffany” blue one that costs a bit more. The film is a little expensive. On average it costs $1/picture. This isn’t a toy for children because it will cost a fortune to keep them satisfied.

Walmart is selling the twin pack of film which is $22 for 20 pictures. I ordered the same pack for $14.95 on Amazon and received 2 day shipping with my Prime account. However, some people have had issues when ordering from this person. So far I have only opened one cartridge of film and the three pictures I took developed just fine.

That’s another cool thing about this camera. The film develops so quickly and there is no shaking required like the Polaroid cameras you remember. Once a film cartridge is loaded into the camera, it cannot be unloaded as light will expose the film.

I haven’t had a chance to do too much with my camera yet but I am so excited to figure out how it works and share it with you all.

 

Leave a Reply

